Tales of a Perfectionist

Life is more than a quest for perfection, a lesson I'm learning day by day.

Cucumbers! July 13, 2009

Filed under: My Garden 2009 — Becky Marie @ 7:53 pm
Tags: ,
I started cucumber seedlings inside, but they did not survive the move outside thanks to whatever ate them.  I bought some seedlings at a local store and they started out very slow then exploded overnight.  Now they are growing very well…  And by growing very well I mean they are trying to take over the garden.
My Cucumber Bush:
The cucumbers have been growing very well.  And by growing very well I mean they are trying to take over the garden.
The cucumbers are HUGE.  We were impressed when the leaves were the size of our hands.  Now that are bigger than BeBop’s head.
 And another one.  Cucumber prior to harvesting.
 We’ve picked at least one, sometime two or three every day for the past two weeks.  I’ve given them away to all our neighbors and we’ve eaten several ourselves.  They are sweeter than I expected.
 More cucumbers...   They just keep growing.  Almost faster than we can use them or give them away.
BeBop’s reaction to the first cucumber we picked.  I think if he had a thought bubble it would say, “What exactly am I supposed to do with this?’
 "What exactly am I supposed to do with this?"
BeBop Helping harvest the cucumbers. 
BeBop helping.
My hand (about 6 inches) next to the cucumbers to give you an idea how big these suckers are.
My hand (about 6 inches) next to the latest harvest.  These guys are so big, but they are nice and sweet.  We gave these two to some of our neighbors.
And of course BeBop wanted to take the same picture that Mom did.
BeBop's hand to give you an idea of how BIG these are.
 
 

One Response to “Cucumbers!”

  1. Tami Says:

    WOW! Those are some serious cucumbers. I love that your little man is such a “helper” in the garden. He’s just oh, so cute!


Leave a Reply

